Public Service Awards (UNPSA) 2015

The Ministry of Public Administration invites interested Ministries, Departments and Government Agencies to submit entries for the United Nations Public Service Awards (UNPSA) 2015. The Division for Public Administration and Development Management (DPADM) of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA) is currently accepting nominations for the UNPSA 2015 in the following four (4) categories:

•    Improving the delivery of services;
•    Fostering participation in policy-making decisions through innovative mechanisms;
•    Promoting Whole-of-Government Approaches in the Information Age; and
•    Promoting gender responsive delivery of public services.

The United Nations Public Service Awards is the most prestigious international recognition of excellence in public service. It rewards the creative achievements and contributions of public service institutions that lead to a more effective and responsive public administration in countries worldwide. Specifically the Award aims to:

•    Discover innovations in governance;
•    Reward excellence in the public sector;
•    Motivate public servants to further promote innovation;
•    Enhance professionalism in the public service;
•    Raise the image of public service;
•    Enhance trust in government; and
•    Collect and disseminate successful practices for possible replication.

At the 2013 UNPSA, TTBizLink won first place in the Latin American and Caribbean Region in the category of Promoting Whole-Of-Government Approaches in the Information Age.  In 2014, the Mentorship Programme of the Ministry of National Security also advanced to the final stage of adjudication. It is hoped that in 2015 one of the many innovative initiatives being implemented across the Trinidad and Tobago Public Service will be awarded in one of the four categories.

Detailed information regarding the United Nations Public Service Awards 2015 can be found at the Awards website - Please click here to view.

The details relating to the categories of the Awards and the specific criteria of each Award and the nomination process can be found here.

In order to ensure that nominations from Trinidad and Tobago are submitted to the UN by the deadline date of Friday, October 31, 2014, the Ministry of Public Administration would be grateful if Ministries, Departments and Agencies that are desirous of submitting entries for consideration, would submit to the MPA no later than Friday, October 03, 2014.

Completed Nomination Forms should be addressed to:

United Nations Public Service Awards
c/o Mr. Akil Nurse
Change Management Specialist
Public Service Transformation Division
Ministry of Public Administration
Level 7
National Library Building
Corner Hart and Abercromby Streets
Port of Spain

Should you require additional information, please feel free to contact either Mr. Akil Nurse or Mrs. Coreen Joseph-Lewis at telephone number 623-4724 Ext. 2004 or Ext. 2040 respectively.