



Ministry of Public Administration and Digital Transformation

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

25 February, 2021

## **DIGITAL TRANSFORMATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING KICKS OFF**

The Cabinet-appointed Digital Transformation Advisory Committee held its inaugural meeting on Wednesday 24<sup>th</sup> February, 2021 at the Old Fire Station Building in Port of Spain. The Committee has a mandate to "Provide an external review of GoRTT's proposed ICT investments and provide feedback on the impact of active investment on the quality of life and standard of living of citizens."

The body was formed as part of Government's commitment to deliver on its promise of Digital Transformation that is citizen centric. The Committee is chaired by Senator the Honourable Allyson West, Minister of Public Administration and Digital Transformation and includes Senator Hassel Bacchus, Minister in the Ministry of Public Administration and Digital Transformation; Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi, Dr. Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, Minister of Education; Mr. Symon De Nobriga, Minister of Communications in the Office of the Prime Minister and representatives from various arms of the State and the private sector.

During the session, attendees were briefed on the Ministry's two-year transformation programme with a clear focus on providing tangible benefits to the citizenry. Additionally, the Committee was briefed on an aggressive programme for fiscal 2021, which would see the country move up at least one step on the digital transformation ladder.

Addressing those present, Senator the Honourable Allyson West expressed her delight in the commitment of Committee members who will be working together to advance the digital agenda. "This group is united in the view that success will result in the improvement in the quality of life and standard of living of an empowered people," said Minister West.

Within the ambit of discussions, the Committee agreed to the establishment of sub-committees to advance its work. The remits of the various sub committees are: Policy and Law, Change Management, IT Infrastructure and Services and Communities Outreach and Uptake.

The Committee will hold its next meeting in the month of March.

### END

For further information, please contact Ms. Sharon Farrell, Senior Corporate Communications Officer at 623-4724 ext. 31100 or email <u>farrells@mpa.gov.tt</u>.

CORPORATE COMMUNICATIONS DIVISION