"FOSS for Good" Technical Assistance Package

- The Forum of Small States (FOSS) was established nearly 30 years ago, and has grown from 16 Member States to 108.
- To commemorate the 30th anniversary of FOSS in 2022, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Singapore, has announced the launch of a "FOSS for Good" technical assistance package at the 76th UN General Assembly. The package will run from 2022 to 2023 through the Singapore Cooperation Programme (SCP).
- The package is designed to provide a peer-learning platform for all FOSS members (at <u>Annex</u>), to share experiences, best practices, and solutions to tackle common challenges. COVID-19 has shown that we are all vulnerable, and countries need to work together to have sustainable and equitable recovery.
- The FOSS package comprises two components:
 - a) Annual Executive Programme for senior officials focused on leadership and governance, policymaking strategies and frameworks, and issues that are crosscutting and multifaceted in nature. All participants will be provided full sponsorship¹ (airfare, course fees and local hospitality); and
 - b) Two to three Customised programmes per year for mid-to-senior level officials focused on specific topics. Course fees and local hospitality will be sponsored¹.
- The programmes aim to address the development priorities and unique challenges of FOSS member states. Themes and topics include digital transformation and COVID-19 recovery.
- We welcome all FOSS members to nominate suitable government officials to attend the "FOSS for Good" programmes. Invitations for the programmes will be sent out about 6-8 weeks before the date of the programmes via the Permanent Missions of FOSS Member States to the UN in New York, Embassies of FOSS Member States accredited to Singapore and the National Focal Points of Technical Assistance of FOSS Member States who participate in the SCP.

. . . .

-

¹ For virtual courses, only course fees will be sponsored.

Members of the Forum of Small States (FOSS)

1	Albania	37	Gambia	73	Nicaragua
2	Andorra	38	Georgia	74	North Macedonia
3	Antigua & Barbuda	39	Grenada	75	Norway
4	Armenia	40	Guinea-Bissau	76	Oman
5	Austria	41	Guyana	77	Palau
6	Azerbaijan	42	Haiti	78	Panama
7	Bahamas	43	Honduras	79	Papua New Guinea
8	Bahrain	44	Hungary	80	Paraguay
9	Barbados	45	Iceland	81	Qatar
10	Belarus	46	Ireland	82	Rwanda
11	Belize	47	Jamaica	83	Saint Kitts & Nevis
12	Benin	48	Jordan	84	Saint Lucia
13	Bhutan	49	Kuwait	85	Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
14	Bolivia	50	Kyrgyzstan	86	Samoa
15	Bosnia & Herzegovina	51	Lao PDR	87	San Marino
16	Botswana	52	Latvia	88	Senegal
17	Brunei Darussalam	53	Lebanon	89	Serbia
18	Bulgaria	54	Lesotho	90	Seychelles
19	Burundi	55	Liberia	91	Sierra Leone
20	Cabo Verde	56	Libya	92	Singapore
21	Cambodia	57	Liechtenstein	93	Slovakia
22	Central African Republic	58	Lithuania	94	Slovenia
23	Comoros	59	Luxembourg	95	Solomon Islands
24	Costa Rica	60	Maldives	96	Suriname
25	Croatia	61	Malta	97	Sweden
26	Cyprus	62	Marshall Islands	98	Switzerland
27	Czech Republic	63	Mauritania	99	Tajikistan
28	Denmark	64	Mauritius	100	Timor-Leste
29	Djibouti	65	Micronesia	101	Togo
30	Dominican Republic	66	Moldova	102	Tonga
31	El Salvador	67	Monaco	103	Trinidad & Tobago
32	Estonia	68	Mongolia	104	Tunisia
33	Eswatini	69	Montenegro	105	United Arab Emirates
34	Fiji	70	Namibia	106	Uruguay
35	Finland	71	Nauru	107	Vanuatu
36	Gabon	72	New Zealand	108	Zambia